Poetrydoodles II

I. Danton Remoto x Shakespeare (Baler x Romeo and Juliet)

See how she leans her cheek upon her hand
If only I could be a glove upon her hand
So I could touch her cheek

The salty wind builds a nest in her hair
While I am chained to a desk
If only I could be a wave upon the beach
So I could kiss her feet

II. Capsaicin

It’s almost too much, this heat
My eyes water every time I taste [it, him, her]
It’s the moment before sunshine
turns to sunburn
It’s the moment before the fire’s warmth begins to blister

It’s almost too much, this (lust)er
The only other thing this red
Is the blood rushing to my skin now
The steady burn of capsaicin on my fingers

It’s almost too much, sometimes
When some [thing, one]
Is waking you up
And making you feel
Alive

III. Waterfall

In time, the hardest rock will yield
To the persuasions of water
this one sits at the edge of the falls
Far from the mouth of the river
That whispers in the spring
and shouts with the thunder
Of the summer storms
Whose voice is no less heard
for the distance

the valley spreads below
What erodes the unalive
Is nurturing whatever strives

And you sit there, blind to beauty
you sit there, wearing away
And the years will break you into pieces
While you sit there, wearing away

Leave a comment