Uncategorized

Nine Twentyfive

after Dillon’s Thirteen Thirtyfive

image

nine

twentyfive

brightest light

loudest crack

head is blank

the world turns black

You would be nine

I’d be twenty five

gone to find a place for us to hide

be together and be close

spend some time before you go

A room or a shed

a cold riverbed

the last leaf of fall

though I wish not at all

A train or a ship

perhaps a mountain

a mission, a wish, a war

or a prophecy

would do for me

Well I can say you are so tiny

you’d fit just fine inside my belly

you set my heart on fire

For you I laid a sheet

in a corner of my bedroom

smells just a little bit
like my perfume

when you go

do let me know

For you I found a road

in the middle of my hometown

soft enough for my knees
and your head

if you want

we’ll make a bed

I come running with a heart on fire
I come running with a heart on fire
I come running with a heart on fire

******

so this song is about when my dog got run over and she was my baby and how even though I know it was physically impossible I wished we could have died together someday so neither of us would ever be bereft of the other

Leave a Reply

