Uncategorized

This is where it starts

This must be how a baby feels when he has started to form coherent thought patterns but still doesn’t know the words to express what they are –

intense frustration at the disconnect between the acceleration of thought and the slowness of speech.

But also, excitement at knowing how much more there is to learn.

***********

I want to make things clear for people. The clearest and most efficient way to explain ideas, I’ve found, is through metaphors – which people usually think is the strictly in the domain of the arts, not science (whether hard or soft sciences). But metaphor lends itself so well to social sciences in particular. At least one guy agrees with me.

“For too long, social scientists have felt forced to choose between imitating science’s empirical methodology and impersonating a romantic notion of art… Brown shows how both science and art depend on metaphoric thinking as their “logic of discovery” and may be assessed in terms of such aesthetic criteria of adequacy as economy, elegance, originality, scope, congruence, and form.

By recognizing this common ground between science and art, Brown demonstrates that a fusion can be achieved within the human sciences of these two principal ideals of knowledge—the scientific or positivist one and the artistic or intuitive one. A path, then, is opened for creating a knowledge of ourselves and society which is at once objective and subjective, at once valid scientifically and significantly humane.” 

I want to make people understand my thoughts so that they can be more free.

I don’t know if I’m happy, but I think I’m freer than most people.

************

I don’t know the word for what this “thing” I’m interested in actually is. It’s definitely in the domain of the social sciences, but I don’t think of it that way. I just want to know how the world works and how to make it better.

I don’t think most of my ideas are original, but I want to be the first to put them the way I put them.

To take the healthy, unpalatable ingredients of intellectual thought and cook up content that is appealing to popular taste. Basically what Jason Pargin and most of the folks at Cracked do.

(I haven’t been able to find out online why Jason Pargin chose “David Wong” as his pen name, but I recently came across an old magazine article that credits a certain David Wong as one of inventors of Prozac, so maybe that’s it? I’m still not sure what to make of that, though. Certainly I owe both David Wongs a lot for the present quality of my life.)

I think we waste too much time knowing the “whats” instead of the “hows.” I know nothing about the chemical process that makes a car run, but I can still drive a car. I’m pretty sure that almost nobody knows how their smartphone works, but they can use them anyway. Yet college is mostly about the “whats” that make no difference for the “hows” – producing only hordes of kids who know too much what and very little how.

We waste so much time…

************

I essentially want to be a connector. To be the spinal cord that bridges the gap between the intelligent brain and the strong body. By that I don’t just mean intellectuals / working class. Any group that’s disconnected and whose skills and resources are complementary. Young and old. Men and women. Parents and non-parents.

I initially wrote, “I essentially only want to be a connector.” Thinking that, well, I would only be bringing the original thoughts of people who are smarter than me to people who are less smart than me. But a body is entirely paralyzed without the function of the spinal cord. Even when the body parts themselves are totally functional, the absence of the connection renders them useless.

Since that sounds much too egotistical, let me say: I want to be a neuron that makes up a spinal cord.

I want to help get this body moving and alive again.

One thought on “This is where it starts

  1. Pingback: How To Translate | lessons

Leave a Reply

